Sounds that prove I’m still 8 years old (Part I)

Vincent van Gogh, Bridge in the Rain (after Hiroshige), 1887

Vincent van Gogh, Bridge in the Rain (after Hiroshige), 1887

I just got back from walking in the rain. Halfway through a puddle I discovered a 2nd hole in the sole of my right shoe. The raindrops slid neatly off the edges of my umbrella onto my ankles as if by design. My legs are covered in black grime, the debris from a recent coat of new asphalt in my neighborhood. And my ears have gone numb. But you know what? It was all worth it because the heavy rain plopping on my umbrella sounded like bubble wrap bursting.

Leave a Reply

